Should I disconnect the Mailchimp for Shopify app before starting the sync?

We recommend disconnecting the Mailchimp for Shopify app and any other Mailchimp syncing app before enabling the initial sync in order to help reduce any conflicts that may be caused by having both running. Before disconnecting, we recommend transferring Abandoned cart and Order notifications tied to the original store by editing the recipients and changing the store to the one with (Mailchimp Connector) in the name. Product retargeting, pop-ups, and any other e-commerce automations created outside the original store will need to be rebuilt for the new connected store.

For more information about the disconnection process, see disconnect from your Mailchimp account. Make sure to use the Switch site dropdown to select the appropriate store to disconnect. Do not disconnect the one with (Mailchimp Connector) in the name, as that is used by this app.